Thanos Polymeneas – Liontiris



transitions is a series of performance interventions occurring on the local bus-line no. 1 (route: Kalamata-Paralia), as part of the 22nd Kalamata International Dance Festival‘s Parallel Events.

Performers mingle with passengers in a very specific part of the public space, the bus, transforming an everyday-life setting into pleasantly unfamiliar situations. Passengers are invited to experience these surprising shifts of reality, a kaleidoscope of oneiric diversions from the daily routine.

During transitions anything could happen, a normal bus ride from and to the beach could become a jazz concert or a dance performance.

transitions happened on 15th, 16th and 17th July 2016, in between 14:00 and 15:00, on buses of local line n.1, in both directions. transitions took place with the kind support and participation of the Municipal Conservatoire of Kalamata and of the 22th Kalamata International Dance Festival.

Curated by: M. Eugenia Demeglio, Thanos Polymeneas-Liontiris

With the participation of:

Βέρα Αισώπου, Ιφιγένεια Αλεξοπούλου-Κυριοπούλου, Βάσια Αναγνωστοπούλου, Δήμητρα Βούτση, Χρήστος Γεωργιόπουλος, Ιωάννα Γιαννακοπούλου, Σταυρούλα Γκόνου, Νάγια Γραμματικοπύλου, Αρίων Γυφτάκης, Άλκη Δίμιζα, Χριστίνα Δίμιζα, Αγγελος Θεοδωρακόπουλος, Νίκος Ιωακείμ, Μαρία Καραχισαρίδου, Νίκος Καρύδης, Ινώ Κάτσιου, Χριστίνα Κουτσούκου, Παναγιώτης Κωστόπουλος, Αλέξης Κωτσόπουλος, Γεώργιος Μουνδρουλέας, Σταύρος Παναγιωτόπουλος, Ναυσικά Πέππα-Τριαντάρη, Μαρία Περρωτή, Κατερίνα Πετροπούλου, Άγγελος Πολυχρονόπουλος, Σταυρούλα Ρουσοπούλου, Σταυρος Ρούσης, Δημήτρης Σταυρόπουλος, Λίλλυ Τριαντάρη, Τζώρτζης Τσιρόπουλος.



Still Life | 2008

Still Life is a collaborative computer-aided composition by SelectInput, a music trio featuring Stelios Manousakis, Pandelis Diamantides and Thanos Polymeneas-Liontiris.

Still Life was commissioned by Sound Museum for the launch of their online gallery. The composition intends to create an immersive post-digital sonic world by deconstructing the sound qualities of acoustic instruments. The real-time digital processing that allows such deconstruction takes place through a complex network of computer algorithms.


DarkLoupe | 2008

DarkLoupe is a computer-interactive composition for double bass, live electronics and video, in collaboration with Karel Doing and Gonçalo Almeida.

The dialogue between the media involved and the relationship they establish echoes the expressionists experiments of early 1900 live-music cinema.

INtrusioni | 2008

INtrusioni is a multimedia intervention, devised in collaboration with M. Eugenia Demeglio and Alberto Novello. It features live electronics, live video processing and movement. It was commissioned by the NAI (Dutch Institute of Architecture).

INtrusioni attempts to draw a parallel between virus diffusion into systems and the relationship humans have with their habitats.

Nameless Dream | 2007

Nameless Dream is a string quartet composed for the performance Sideroxylon – A one way ticket beyond Wien.

Nameless Dream was played live during the dance performance choreographed by M. Eugenia Demeglio, alongside compositions by Nikos Ioakim and Friso van Wijck.

Music performed by: Miren Ceberio (1st violin), Pedro Porras/ Iván García Artaraz (2nd violin), Satoko Matsukuma (viola), Catarina Ferreira (cello)